Experienced Dom or newbie?

Posted

I have been having a discussion recently with another woman sub about the relative merits of starting relationships with either experienced Doms or newbies.

My only experiences so far are the year I spent with my Dom, who had at least one long-term D/s relationship under his belt, and a more recent couple of dates with a Dom who claimed to have 20 years in the lifestyle. On the other hand, the other sub has had recent experiences with a couple of men new to the lifestyle. 

Both of my experienced partners seemed confident of their role, but when their skills failed to make things happen for me, they were also both unwilling to listen to my ideas, respectfully suggested, as to what might work (given I have 56 years experience of this body and this somewhat awkward ADHD head). The latter especially had a one-size-fits-all attitude and an expectation that if he just kept repeating the same actions, eventually I would realise what was expected of me and he would get the outcome he wanted (which, tired old cliche that it is, is said to be the definition of madness). 

The other woman’s experiences with newbies have been varied but, on the whole, a bit more positive. There is a willingness to learn and experiment, an acceptance that they don’t know it all. Of course, there is also hesitancy, less confidence, less skills and the fact that they require guidance, which as a sub, might not come naturally. 

We thought it would be interesting to hear about other people’s experiences and preferences. 

Cheers, Lock

Posted